‘Varunraj Bhide Journalism Award’ announced to Pune-based senior journalists Shailesh Kale, Arun Mehetre along with Samar Khadas and D.K. Walse Patil

Pune: This year’s Senior Journalist ‘Varunraj Bhide Journalism Award’ has been announced today. According to the information, the Special Correspondent of Maharashtra Times from Mumbai, Samar Khadas, will be awarded with the ‘Main Award’ (Varunraj Bhide Patrakarita Mukhya Puraskar). Whereas Shailesh Kale, Chief Correspondent of ‘Aaj Ka Anand’, Arun Mhetre, Senior Correspondent of ‘Zee 24 Taas’ news channel, and D. K. Valse Patil, correspondent of Sakal from Manchar, will be awarded with the ‘Credible Journalism Award’ (Ashwasak Patrakarita Puraskar).

The awards will be distributed in the auditorium of the Maharashtra Sahitya Parishad on Sunday, April 28, at 5 p.m. in the evening. Significantly, this year marks the 22nd year of the ‘Varunraj Bhide Awards’.

The ‘Main Award’ is given to a journalist who has made a significant contribution to Marathi journalism, while the ‘Credible Journalism Award’ is given to journalists who have performed outstandingly in urban and rural areas as well as in news channels.

Trustees Ankush Kakade and Dr Satish Desai informed that the award ceremony will be held by senior educationist Dr. P. D. Patil and presided over by senior journalist Anant Bagaitkar.

The Journalist Varunraj Bhide Award is also presented to graduation students of Savitribai Phule Pune University. This year, the award will be given to Anand Pofale, who stands first in the final examination and current affairs of the university.

Senior journalists Anil Takalkar, Satyajit Joshi, and Pratibha Chandran were appointed to serve on the panel responsible for selecting the awardees, whereas Jairam Desai worked as the coordinator.

Comments are closed.