Pune: Murlidhar Mohol bends down to Parliament’s steps; together for Pune’s development, says Medha Kulkarni


Pune: The newly elected BJP Member of Parliament (MP) from Pune, Murlidhar Mohol, and Rajaya Sabha Member (MP) Medha Kulkarni together visited the Parliament. Now, Pune, particularly Kothrud, has two MPs.

Photos of their visit to the Parliament have been shared by Kulkarni on her Facebook wall. One can see Mohol bending down to touch his forehead to the steps of the Parliament in one photo. They also clicked a photo together in front of Lokmanya Tilak’s photo.

Together for the city’s development

It is hoped that two MPs from Pune will expedite development projects for the city. Kulkarni has captioned the post: ‘We will walk together…, for Pune’s development’. This indicates that they will work together in the Parliament to speed up the city’s development.

New cabinet on Sunday

All NDA MPs were present for a meeting in the Central Hall of the Parliament on Friday. The NDA has staked its claim to form the new government and has given a letter to President Draupadi Murmu. The President has issued instructions for further procedures.

PM Narendra Modi will take the oath of office again as the Prime Minister of the country for the third term on Sunday. Some MPs from the NDA alliance will also be sworn in as cabinet ministers. Heads of state from various countries will attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Decisive mandate by voters from suburbs

Murlidhar Mohol got the lead from the Kothrud, Vadgaon Sheri, Parvati, Kasba Peth and Shivajinagar assembly constituencies in the Lok Sabha election. His nearest rival Ravindra Dhangekar took the lead only from the Pune Cantonment segment. The higher leads from Kothrud and Vadgaon Sheri proved decisive for Mohol’s victory. The VBA and the MIM could not get votes in these segments.

As many as 35 candidates were contesting the election. The BJP has MLAs in the Kothrud, Shivajinagar, Pune Cantonment and Parvati assembly constituencies. MLA Sunil Tingre from Vadgaon Sheri belongs to the NCP (AP). MLA Ravindra Dhangekar of the Congress represents the Kasba Peth seat.

Leave A Reply