Six held for selling ration rice in black market; rice, valuables worth Rs 97 lakh seized in Hadapsar

Pune : NpNews24 Online Pune Crime | In a major action, the Pune Police Crime Branch Unit 2 arrested six people for black-marketing rice meant to be sold in the public distribution system (ration) in Hadapsar area. The police seized 800 quintal of rice and three trucks used for transporting the commodity, totally worth Rs 97.44 lakh. The action was taken at Survey No. 15 in Hadapsar.


The arrested have been identified as Mohammad Irfan Mehmudul Hassan Ansari (32), a resident of Dhule, Irfan Sheru Shaikh (28), a resident of Masjid Isak Nandi road, Dhule district, Mohammad Asif Abdul Latif Ansari (30), Sou Footi Road, Dhule district, Shaikh Javed Rahim (44), a resident of Dhule, Mohammad Ibrahim Abdul Jabbar, Akbar Chowk, district Dhule, Mustkim Ismail Shaha (23), Markat Masjid, district Dhule. They are drivers and cleaners.


During patrolling within the jurisdiction of the Swargate police station, the Crime Branch Unit 2 got a tip-off that rice meant for rationing was being illegally taken in three trucks (MH18BA7725, MH18BG0053 and MH18BG5859) from Survey No. 15, Hadapsar to Khopoli in Raigad district for the purpose of selling. The police formed three teams and seized the trucks in the presence of witnesses.


The drivers and cleaners were interrogated. They told the police that they loaded the rice from the godowns belonging to Shree Kanaklakshmi Agro Traders and New APMC Yard CBS Gunj Gangavati, district Koppal, Karnataka. They were transporting the food grain to Jai Anand Food Industries in Khopoli, district Raigad.


The police impounded the trucks, along with rice, and registered an offence.


The action was taken under the guidance of CP Amitabh Gupta, Joint CP Dr Ravindra Shisve, Addl CP Ramnath Pokale, DCP Srinivas Ghadge and ACP Gajanan Tompe. A team comprising PI Krantikumar Patil, API Vaishali Bhosale, PSI Yashwant Ambre, police personnel Kishor Vaggu, Sanjay Jadhav, Mohsin Shaikh, Sadhana Tamhane, Uttam Taru, Chandrakant Mahajan, Gajanan Sonune, Nikhil Jadhav, Sameer Pate