Pune: Couple arrested for vehicle thefts; 8 four-wheelers, 9 two-wheelers seized (Video)

Pune: The Sinhagad Road Police have arrested a couple for vehicle thefts at various locations by staying at various lodges in the city, conducting recces and stealing two- and four-wheelers at night. The police have recovered 17 vehicles, including eight four-wheelers and nine two-wheelers valued at Rs 12.70 lakh.

Vehicle thefts were rising within the jurisdiction of the Sinhagad Road Police Station. A special squad was set up to search for the culprits. Policemen Uttam Taru, Rahul Olekar and Shivaji Kshirsagar got a tip-off that a man and woman were sitting in a car in Loni Kalbhor. The squad set a trap and detained them.

On sustained interrogation, they admitted to have stolen the 17 vehicles, out of which eight four-wheelers and nine two-wheelers were impounded. The accused had sold stolen vehicles in Nagpur, Shirdi and Shrirampur. The police visited these places and seized valuables amounting to Rs 12.70 lakh.

It was found during the investigation that the accused were husband and wife. They used to stay at various lodges in the city and steal vehicles during night. They would steal vehicles in such a way that no one would suspect that they were husband and wife.

The police checked their trail for two months and then arrested them. In all, 17 vehicle thefts were detected, including five under the Sinhagad Road PS, two under Bharati Vidyapeeth PS, two under the Hadapsar PS, two under the Koregaon Park PS and one each under the Kondhwa-Warje Malwadi-Samarth-Wanawadi-Bibwewadi-Nagpur Chawl police stations.

The action was taken under the guidance of Commissioner of Police (CP) Amitesh Kumar, Joint CP Praveen Pawar, Addl CP Pravinkumar Patil, DCP Sambhaji Kadam, ACP Jagdish Satav and Sr PI Vijay Kumbhar by the police squad comprising API Sachin Nikam, PSI Santosh Bhandwalkar, police personnel Aba Uttekar, Sanjay Shinde, Uttam Taru, Raju Vegre, Vikas Bandal, Amol Patil, Viaks Patole, Deva Chavan, Shivaji Kshirsagar, Rahul Olekar, Sagar Shedge, Swapnil Magar, Vinayak Mohite and Shirish Gawde.

Comments are closed.