Pune Graduate Constituency: Arun Lad of Maha Vikas Aghadi wins; Big setback for BJP

Pune: Arun Lad, the candidate of Maha Vikas Aghadi from Pune Graduate Constituency has won with a whopping margin of 49700 votes. The results were declared early Friday morning. BJP candidate Sangram Deshmukh managed to get only 73321 votes while Arun Lad got 122145 votes.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has suffered a major setback in this election, despite the monumental efforts taken by the party to increase the voter base. BJP’s current state president Chandrakantdada Patil, who himself had won from the Pune Graduate constituency, had resigned from this seat as he contested the state assembly elections from Kothrud constituency.

BJP had campaigned heavily in all five districts that come under the Pune division of the graduate constituency. BJP hoped that the voter base of Kolhapur will help them win this election easily, however that has not happened.

After his huge win, MVA candidate Arun Lad has sought time to meet Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) supremo Sharad Pawar. Lad is expected to meet Pawar at 9.30am at the latter’s residence in Modi Baug in Pune city.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.