Prime Minister official website will be available in 6 UN languages and in 22 Indian languages

New Delhi: To increase connectivity with a people the government has decided and sought proposals from agencies to redesign the Prime Minister”s official website which will be available in six UN languages and 22 scheduled Indian languages. The current website of the Prime Minister is accessible in 12 languages.
The government has invited qualified and experienced agency having experience in the field of design, development and maintenance of websites, according to a request for proposal (RFP) floated by National e-Governance Division (NeGD). The RFP documents said, “the agency would be required to prepare a detailed software requirement specification, provide end-to-end managed service for development and maintenance of the website and localise the PM India portal into 22 official Indian languages and six official United Nations languages.”
The six UN languages are Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. While the list of Indian languages includes Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.
There will be a single website with an option for shortlisted entities to design, develop, operate, maintain, translate and transliterate PM India Website selection of language by the website visitor. The proposed website will be able to prompt or recommend the language based on various other factors including geo-location and language selection history.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.