Chronology of the fall of Congress in Delhi : 47, 43, 8, 0, 0

New Delhi : It will still take several hours for the complete results of the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 to come, but the picture is almost clear from the trends. Aam Aadmi Party was ahead in 58 seats and BJP in 12 seats. Once again zero is seen in the Congress account. This is a very embarrassing situation for the oldest party in the country, which has ruled for 15 consecutive years under the leadership of Sheila Dikshit a few years ago.

The 1998 election was the beginning of the rise of the Congress in Delhi. Inflation was a major issue in this election and it is said that onion inflation has brought down the BJP government. Then there was the government of Atal Bihari Vajpayee at the center. The rise of Sheila Dixit also started from here and she became the Chief Minister of Delhi for the first time. The Congress got 52 seats in the 70-member assembly. It got about 48 seats. The BJP led by Sushma Swaraj lost and got just 15 seats. BJP got 34 percent votes.

Congress rule again in 2003
The Congress again won a landslide victory in the 2003 Delhi Assembly elections. In that election, the Congress had once again formed a government under the leadership of Sheila Dikshit, after winning 47 seats. In the December 2003 assembly elections, the Congress had secured 48.13 percent votes. The second-placed Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured 20 seats and about 35 per cent of the votes.

In the 2008 elections, the Congress was formed with the victory for the third time under the leadership of Sheila Dikshit. The Congress had got a total of 43 seats. The Congress got around 40 percent votes.

Wins overturned in 2013
In the 2013 elections, the bet was completely reversed. The rise of the Aam Aadmi Party after the Commonwealth scandal and the Anna movement changed the atmosphere completely. The results of the assembly were hung. The Bharatiya Janata Party got 31 seats, the Aam Aadmi Party got 28 and the Congress got only 8 seats.

BJP got about 33 percent, AAP got about 29 percent and Congress got about 24 percent. The Aam Aadmi Party formed a government with the Congress, although this government could run for only 49 days. After this, President’s rule was imposed.

AAP peak in 2015
The 2015 assembly election was one of the worst performing years for the Congress. Due to the rise of the common man, all the forts of the opposition collapsed. What hope could left for the Congress when the BJP had got only three seats. Congress got zero i.e. no single seat. The veteran Congress leaders also lost. The Aam Aadmi Party won 67 out of 70 seats.

The AAP government was again formed under the leadership of Arvind Kejriwal. The Aam Aadmi Party got around 54 per cent, BJP got 32 per cent and Congress got only 9.7 per cent. That is, within two years, the vote percentage of the Congress came down from 24 to 10.

Congress again zero in 2020
The Assembly elections of 2020 also did not raise any hope for the defeated Congress. Once again, zero is visible in the Congress’ account. Till writing the news, the Congress was neither ahead in any seat nor did it win any seat.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.