Pimpri might get first woman MLA this time

NPnews24 Online Pimpri: While political leaders and party activists have began fielding their interests to contest the upcoming Assembly elections in the state, it has been observed that Pimpri constituency has maximum women interested in contesting for the seat.

In 2014, Chandrakanta Sonkamble of Republican Party (Athavale group) had contested the elections. She was only 3,806 votes behind the winning candidate. Anita Sonawane of Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), Magal Kamble of republic Rakshak, Sunita Chhajchhidak of Rashtriya Valmiki Sena, and independent candidates Asha Randive and Meena Khilare too had contested the elections last time.

This time, along with Sonkamble, Corporator Sulakhana Dhar of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) too has begun preparing for the Assembly elections.

If a woman candidate wins this time, Pimpri will have its first woman MLA.

After the Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies were restructured, three constituencies – Pimpri, Chinchwad and Bhosari – came into existence in Pimpri-Chinchwad area. While Pimpri constituency is reserved for scheduled castes, Anna Bansode of NCP was the first MLA there. Later, his position was won over by Shiv Sena’s Adv. Gautam Chabukswar. Along with these two, many women candidates are interested in the seat this time.

The number of women aspirants is relatively lower in Chinchwad and Bhosari.